Cup Competition Draws 2017/18

11 months ago By Simon Harrison

The draws have been made for the 2017/18 cup competitions.

At Tuesday night's league meeting, the last one before the new campaign, the draws were made for the Gilgryst Cup, Murray Trophy, Open Trophy and Bridgewater Cup.

Gilgryst Cup
All 16 teams from the Premier Division are to compete for this season's Gilgryst Cup. This competition will be a straight knockout. The draw is as follows:

Springhead v East Manchester
Manchester Gregorians v Heyside
Wythenshawe Amateurs v Stockport Georgians
AFC Monton v Old Alts
Prestwich Heys Res v Avro
Hindsford v Rochdale Sacred Heart
Royton Town v Bolton County
Dukinfield Town v Walshaw Sports

Murray Trophy
The Murray will be competed by all teams from Division One and Division Two. There are four groups, each containing mixed teams from both divisions. Each team will play the others from their group once and the top two teams from each group will qualify for the knockout stages. The groups are as follows:

Group A
Atherton Town
Westbury Sports
Tintwistle Athletic
Radcliffe Juniors
Breightmet United

Group B
Elton Vale
Wilmslow Albion
Govan Athletic
Altrincham Hale
Heywood St James

Group C
Chadderton Res
Beechfield United
Manchester Central
Hindley Juniors
Atherton LR Development

Group D
Chapel Town
Leigh Athletic
Bolton Lads & Girls Club
Irlam Steel

Open Trophy
This year's Open Trophy will be contain the 12 teams from Division Three. There are two groups of 6 where teams will play each other once. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the knockout stages. The groups are as follows:

Group A
Wythenshawe Amateurs Reserves
Springhead Reserves
Walshaw Sports Reserves
Royton Town Reserves
Wilmslow Albion Reserves
Stockport Georgians Reserves

Group B
Rochdale Sacred Heart Reserves
Avro Reserves
Dukinfield Town Reserves
Manchester Gregorians Reserves
Hindsford Reserves
Atherton Town Reserves

Bridgewater Cup
The Bridgewater Cup will be competed by the 21 teams from Division Four and Division Five. There are 4 groups, one of 6 teams and three of 5 teams. Each team will play the other teams from their group once. The top team from each group will qualify for the knockout stages. The groups are as follows:

Group A
Pennington Reserves
Heyside Res
East Manchester Academy
Atherton Town A
Uppermill Reserves
Altrincham Hale Reserves

Group B
Rochdale Sacred Heart A
Leigh Athletic Reserves
Hollinwood Reserves
Govan Athletic Reserves
Breightmet United

Group C
Irlam Steel Reserves
Old Alts Reserves
Elton Vale Reserves
Heywood St James Reserves
Bolton Lads & Girls Club Reserves

Group D
Bolton County Reserves
AFC Monton Reserves
Boothstown Reserves
Tintwistle Athletic Reserves
Chadderton EDS

Dates for all games are to be confirmed.


Where next?

East Manchester retain Terry Wood Cup East Manchester romped to a 6-2 victory over Prestwich Heys Reserves to retain the Terry Wood Cup.
Fixture Release: Part II The Manchester Football League can reveal more fixtures as part of MFL Fixture Release Day Part II.

Manchester Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.