2018/19 League Constitution

By Simon Harrison

The Manchester Football League can confirm the constitution for the coming 2018/19 season.

As we communicated earlier in the month, the constitution of the Divisions for the 2018/19 season could not be confirmed due to a number of outstanding issues that were yet to be resolved at the time.

We can now confirm that these issues have been resolved and the constitution for the coming season, as voted by the Clubs at the EGM on for Monday 16th July, is as follows.

Although we have had a number of new applicants to the MFL, we have also seen some Clubs depart us, whether it is via promotion, a sideways step or unfortunately disbanding.

As a result, the predicament we have faced is that the numbers in the Divisions were uneven which potentially meant that some teams would not play regular football. This is something which worried us as well as the Clubs involved.

With this in mind, a suggestion was put to the Clubs that, for one season only, a number of merges were to be made to ensure there is not only an even number of teams within the Divisions but a greater chance for football every weekend (weather permitting, of course!)

Premier Division
The 2017/18 season saw the Division end with 15 teams and with Avro and Wythenshawe Amateurs obtain promotion to the North West Counties, Chadderton Reserves, Manchester Central and Beechfield United achieved promotion from Division One to bring the total number of teams to the desired number of 16. Stockport Georgians’ application for a lateral move to the Cheshire League was not accepted so they are to remain in the top Division.

Division One
14 teams are to make up Division One as opposed to the 12 teams last season.

We have seen Chapel Town and Westbury Sports leave us from last year’s competition which has had an impact on the thought process for the 18/19 campaign. Of the 14 teams, 8 join from Division Two including Altrincham Hale who are promoted as champions along with Tintwistle Athletic as Runners-Up.

Division Two
14 teams will compete in this Division and will contain a mixture of first teams and reserves teams (of Clubs who have first teams in the league).

Astley & Tyldesley, Middleton Colts and Moorside Rangers will make their MFL debut in addition to the reserve teams of Avro and Wythenshawe Amateurs who are now classed as first teams (only team) in the MFL.

The reserve teams of Rochdale Sacred Heart, Atherton Town, Manchester Gregorians, Hindsford and Walshaw Sports have also been added to the Division.

Division Three
The 2018/19 season will see 14 teams compete in Division Three, providing a mash up of teams who have played in the Division last season plus some of Division Four and Five.

The 4 existing teams are joined by 8 from Division Four and 2 from Division Five.

Division Four
This Division will contain 13 teams and will be a mix of existing teams, new teams from existing Clubs and new teams from the new applicants.


Premier Division (16 Clubs)
East Manchester
Rochdale Sacred Heart
Stockport Georgians
Walshaw Sports
Dukinfield Town
Bolton County
Royton Town
Manchester Gregorians
AFC Monton
Old Altrinchamians
Chadderton Reserves (Division 1 Champions)
Manchester Central
Beechfield United

Division One (14 Clubs)
Elton Vale
Atherton Town
Leigh Athletic
Wilmslow Albion
Altrincham Hale (Division 2 Champions)
Bolton Lads and Girls Club
Tintwistle Athletic
Govan Athletic
Radcliffe Juniors
Heywood St James
Atherton Laburnum Rovers Reserves

Division Two (14 Clubs)
Breightmet United
Irlam Steel
Hindley Juniors
Avro Reserves
Wythenshawe Amateurs Reserves
Moorside Rangers
Astley & Tyldesley
Middleton Colts
Rochdale Sacred Heart Reserves (Division 3 Champions)
Atherton Town Reserves
Manchester Gregorians Reserves
Hindsford Reserves
Walshaw Sports Reserves

Division Three (14 Clubs)
Dukinfield Town Reserves
Wilmslow Albion Reserves
Stockport Georgians Reserves
Springhead Reserves
East Manchester Academy (Division 4 Champions)
Elton Vale Reserves
Rochdale Sacred Heart A
Leigh Athletic Reserves
Pennington Reserves
AFC Monton Reserves
Bolton County Reserves
Old Altrinchamians Reserves
Chadderton EDS (Division 5 Champions)
Uppermill Reserves

Division Four (13 Clubs)
Boothstown Reserves
Heywood St James Reserves
Altrincham Hale Reserves
Atherton Town A
Bolton Lads and Girls Club Reserves
Tintwistle Athletic Reserves
Govan Athletic Reserves
Astley & Tyldesley Reserves
Heyside Reserves
Royton Town Reserves
Dukinfield Town A
Moorside Rangers Reserves
Manchester Central Reserves

Where next?

2018/19 Fixtures - August The Manchester Football League can finally reveal the fixtures of August for the Premier Division and Divisions One and Two.
New Additions For New Season Following the AGM last week, we can announce the new clubs joining us for the 2018/19 campaign.

Manchester Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.